Judge Me When I’m Wrong by Cheryl A. Head


Justice hangs in the balance when two court cases spiraling out of control drop a bull’s-eye squarely on Charlie’s personal and professional life.


Judge Me When I’m Wrong is Book #4 of the Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series

Justice hangs in the balance when two court cases begin to spiral out of control.

When a guilt-ridden client has an unexpected change of heart, the Mack team’s careful preparation for his grand jury testimony is blown to smithereens. Now, Charlie and Gil must pull out all the stops to defend him from his new enemies and the estrangement of his father. Meanwhile, Charlie reports for jury duty and unwittingly begins to unravel a disturbing plan to alter the outcome of a crime lord’s conspiracy trial. Before she knows it, Charlie’s dangerous meddling lands a bulls-eye squarely on the intersection of her personal and professional lives, putting all that she holds dear in jeopardy.

Winner of the 2020 Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award

The Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award recognizes the book that has been picked as the Golden Crown Literary Society’s membership as the favorite among nominated entries. Ann Bannon is the author of a series of five game-changing lesbian pulp novels known as “The Beebo Brinker Chronicles.” Written from 1957 to 1962, the books were bestsellers when they were first released, and have had remarkable longevity, especially for genre fiction. They have been published in five different editions and in several languages, and are often taught in women’s studies and LGBT studies courses. Ms. Bannon was the winner of the first GCLS Trailblazer Award in 2005.

“Charlie Mack is a Motown PI you’ll want to know better. Slam-bang cases and true to life characters. She deserves your R-E-S-P-E-C-T.” —J.M. REDMANN, Lambda Literary Award-winning author

“Cheryl Head delivers Motor City details that ring true, and characters that swagger off the page.” —ELIZABETH SIMS, author of the Lambda and Goldie Award-winning Lillian Byrd Mysteries

“Mack, who is a black cis lesbian, stands out as a truly intersectional character in crime fiction.” —JOHN COPENHAVER, Lambda Literary Review

“From her old-school titles to the ripped from today’s headlines, Cheryl Head blends the old and the new into this outstanding Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series.” —PENNY MICKELBURY, award-winning author

A Detroit native, CHERYL A. HEAD now lives on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. Her debut novel Long Way Home: A World War II Novel was a 2015 Next Generation Indie Book Award finalist in the African American Literature and Historical Fiction categories. Bury Me When I’m Dead (Book One of the Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series) was a 2017 Lambda Literary Award finalist, and included in the Detroit Public Library’s African American Booklist. In 2019, Head was inducted into the Saints & Sinners Hall of Fame. She also serves as the Director of Inclusion for the Golden Crown Literary Society.

Additional information


, ,


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Judge Me When I’m Wrong by Cheryl A. Head”

You may also like…