Wake Me When It’s Over by Cheryl A. Head

Rated 4.50 out of 5 based on 2 customer ratings
(2 customer reviews)


Charlie Mack and her crack team of private investigators must use every trick in the book to find out who’s behind a evil plot to bring death and destruction to the Detroit Auto Show.



Wake Me When It’s Over, Book #2 of the Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series

Charlie Mack and her crack team of private investigators have been asked to take on a seemingly impossible task—to identify and thwart an attack on the upcoming Detroit Auto Show. With a $100K incentive and the help of a dozen freelancers, Charlie and her team slowly begin to unravel a twisted plot that runs through several countries and even more bank accounts. But finding out who’s behind the deadly plot only solves half the problem, because Charlie is drawn into an intensive game of cat-and-mouse to locate dozens of hidden bombs before they can be detonated.

Bury Me When I’m Dead, Book #1 of the Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series was a finalist for the 29th Annual Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Mystery.

Bury Me When I’m Dead is a compelling tale from an intriguing new writer. Cheryl Head delivers Motor City details that ring true, characters that swagger off the page, and a story that should surprise even the savviest readers.” —Elizabeth Sims, author of the Lambda and Goldie Award-winning Lillian Byrd Mysteries

A Detroit native, Cheryl A. Head now lives on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC, where she navigated a successful career as a writer, television producer, filmmaker, broadcast executive, and media funder. Her debut novel, Long Way Home: A World War II Novel, was a 2015 Next Generation Indie Book Award finalist in both the African American Literature and Historical Fiction categories; and Bury Me When I’m Dead (Book #1 of the Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series) was a Lambda Literary Award finalist. When not writing fiction, you will find her serving as the Golden Crown Literary Society Director of Inclusion, and consulting on a wide range of diversity issues.

Additional information


, ,

2 reviews for Wake Me When It’s Over by Cheryl A. Head

  1. Rated 4 out of 5

    Lynne Blinkenberg

    Cheryl Head’s Wake Me When It’s Over is the second installment in her Charlie Mack series. The story follows the adventures of the Mack detective agency as they fight a possible terrorism plot at the Detroit Auto Show. Once again, Head weaves a tapestry full of the sights and sounds of Detroit, her beloved hometown. The book is home to a complex network of personalities, plots, do-gooders and evil-doers; the turn of each page sends you down a new hallway of mystery and intrigue. No one will need to “wake you when it’s over” because you’ll want to stay up all night to see what happens to Charlie, Mandy, Gil, Don and Judy.
    From an advance readers copy.

  2. Rated 5 out of 5


    Cheryl has done it again. She brings Detroit to life through her dynamic Charlie Mack character. Charlie and her team confront terrorism under the back drop of the Detroit Auto Show. All of the characters are fully developed making this a fun read. I read it in one sitting.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…