Warn Me When It’s Time by Cheryl A. Head


Charlie Mack and her investigative team reconnect with an old friend as they work to infiltrate a hate group with ties that run all the way to Washington, D.C.


Coming June 2021

Warn Me When It’s Time is Book #6 of the Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series

A hate group operating in Oakland County, Michigan has claimed responsibility for a six-month-long string of arson fires and robberies at mosques, temples, and black churches around Detroit, eluding police and federal agencies. The most recent fire, at a mosque in Dearborn, kills a respected imam. His children—suspicious are of law enforcement’s treatment of Muslims, and afraid of reprisal—hires Charlie Mack and her team of investigators to find their father’s murderers. The Mack team begins to hunt down the clues in this local hate crime, but they aren’t prepared when they realize that those clues are pointing to a widespread conspiracy that runs through elected state officials and up to the highest levels of national leadership.

FBI agent, James Saleh, returns to help the Mack Agency infiltrate and take down a homegrown militia hell-bent on starting a race war in America.

“I prefer to read crime series in chronological order. That way you see the protagonist grow and change over time, and have a richer experience reading later volumes. But Cheryl A. Head’s chilling and prescient WARN ME WHEN IT’S TIME, the sixth novel featuring the private investigator Charlie Mack, has me questioning this ingrained belief, knowing there are several book-length investigations to catch up on, preferably by bingeing them.” —SARAH WEINMAN, The New York Times

“Charlie Mack is a Motown PI you’ll want to know better. Slam-bang cases and true-to-life characters. She deserves your R-E-S-P-E-C-T.” —J.M. REDMANN, Lambda Literary Award-winning author

“Cheryl Head delivers Motor City details that ring true, and characters that swagger off the page.” —ELIZABETH SIMS, author of the Lambda and Goldie Award-winning Lillian Byrd Mysteries

“Mack, who is a black cis lesbian, stands out as a truly intersectional character in crime fiction.” —JOHN COPENHAVER, Lambda Literary Review

“From her old-school titles to the ripped from today’s headlines, Cheryl Head blends the old and the new into this outstanding Charlie Mack Motown Mystery Series.” —PENNY MICKELBURY, award-winning author

“If you haven’t read a Cheryl A. Head book yet, then you need to stop denying yourself the pleasure of a well-written legal thriller. Discover what the rest of us have; her mysteries are solid and engaging to the very end.” —The Lesbian Book Blog

A Detroit native, Cheryl A. Head now lives on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. She is a two-time Lambda Literary Award finalist and her work is included in the Detroit Public Library’s African American Booklist. In 2019, Head was inducted into the Saints & Sinners Hall of Fame. She currently serves as a national board member for Bouchercon.

Additional information


, ,

You may also like…