The Golden Crown Literary Society has announced finalists for 2021, which includes several Bywater Books titles.

Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award

The Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award recognizes the book that has been picked as the membership’s favorite among nominated entries. Ann Bannon is the author of a series of five lesbian pulp novels known as “The Beebo Brinker Chronicles.” Written from 1957 to 1962, the books were bestsellers when they were first released, and have had remarkable longevity, especially for genre fiction. They have been published in five different editions and in several languages, and are often taught in women’s studies and LGBT studies courses. Ms. Bannon was the winner of the first GCLS Trailblazer Award in 2005.

  • Find Me When I’m Lost by Cheryl A. Head
  • Nottingham by Anna Burke
  • You Can’t Die But Once by Penny Mickelbury

Tee Corinne Award for Outstanding Cover Design

Tee Corinne (November 3, 1943 – August 27, 2006) was a photographer, author, and editor notable for the portrayal of sexuality in her artwork. The Tee Corinne Award for Outstanding Cover Design provides recognition for cover designs that create a beautiful representation of the story and put a professional face on the lesbian genre. It is named after her to honor a trailblazer for lesbian visibility and give the award prestige to those who recognize how daring she was in her art and quest to make lesbians visible to the world.

  • Nottingham (Anna Burke), cover designed by Ann McMan, TreeHouse Studio, published by Bywater Books
  • The Feasting Virgin (Georgia Kolias), cover designed by Ann McMan, TreeHouse Studio, published by Bywater Books

Other Categories

Each year, the Golden Crown Literary Society recognizes excellence in lesbian-themed literature across 19 categories, in addition to the Ann Bannon Popular Choice Award and the Tee Corinne Award for Outstanding Cover Design.

Contemporary Romance: Long Novel
Spindrift: A Seal Cove Romance by Anna Burke

Romantic Blend
Nottingham by Anna Burke

General Fiction
The Feasting Virgin by Georgia Kolias

Debut Novel
The Feasting Virgin by Georgia Kolias

Humorous Novel
The Big Tow by Ann McMan

The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) is a 501(c)3 non-profit, volunteer organization whose mission is education and the promotion and recognition of lesbian literature. For more information, and a full listing of all finalists as well as scholarship opportunities, please visit the GCLS Website.

Share This